Table of Content
Managing a business involves numerous challenges to ensure it is successful and profitable. Questions such as how many units should be produced? How many units should be sold? Can the number of units sold monthly or annually enough to cover all the costs? At what price should the product sell? These and many questions must be addressed to save the company from any losses. Break-even point analysis seeks to answer these challenges.
Break-even is the point where the company’s income and expenses are equal, the company is operating at a level where the sales are enough to cover the cost. The company is not losing money and at the same time, it is also not making money. At this point, net income is zero.
Break-even is a concept widely used across all businesses and in different industries regardless of the company size, big and small business recognize this. It can be presented as a number of units, dollar values, and even percentages.
Managers involved in production tend to focus more on the number of units such how many units must be produced to cover the manufacturing costs. On the other hand, C-suite or higher-level management focus on the actual total sales value or percentage required to recover the costs.
Uses of Break-even point analysis:
- Useful in determining a product’s selling price that will result in desired profits.
- Determines the effect of any change in a product’s selling price on company profits.
- Helps in determining sales volume to cover a specified return on capital.
- Helps in forecasting cost and how any changes will affect the company’s profits.
- Helps management in establishing an acceptable level of decline in sales before incurring losses (called safety margin).
- Gives insight on costs and revenue at various levels of production. Management obtains information on the effects of:
- Increase in sales price
- Reduction in cost
- Product substitution of less profitable with more profitable products
- Increase in production levels
- Assists management in decision making such as:
- Introduction of a new product or discontinue a product
- Make or Buy. Make a component or ingredient of a finished product or purchase from outside suppliers.
- Select the most profitable product or sales mix.
- Ascertain the company’s strength by determining its earning capacity.
- And many more…
The formula for break-even point is based on these underlying assumptions:
- Cost Segregation. Total cost is composed of fixed and variable costs.
- Constant Fixed Cost. Fixed costs are constant at all volumes of output.
- Variable cost per unit is constant. Variable cost is in direct proportion to the volume of output. As output increases, variable cost also increase. If output falls, variable cost also decreases.
- Constant Selling Price. Price remains constant regardless of a change in volume of output or other factors such as a discount, promotional offers.
- Production and Sales are in sync. Sales volume and volume of output are equal and inventories are constant at the beginning and end.
- Constant product mix. Only one product is produced and sold. For companies with many products, the product mix is assumed to be stable.
- No change in technology, production methods, and workers efficiency.
- No other factors. Only the volume of output influences cost and revenue. Factors such as trends, competitors are ignored.
Let us discuss in detail the two types of costs mentioned in the assumptions.
- Fixed cost. These are costs that remain unchanged for a period of time regardless of the increase and decrease of products or services manufactured or sold by the company. Fixed costs are expenses that must be paid independent of the volume of production and sales and it is considered time-related; these must be paid either monthly, semi-annually and annually. So if a company manufactures zero goods, it still incurs fixed costs. Examples of fixed costs are:
- Interest expense
- Taxes e.g. property
- Insurance premiums
- Utilities e.g. electricity, water, gas, heating, phone, internet service
- Variable cost. These are costs directly related to the company’s business activity- the manufacture or production of its goods and services. Unlike Fixed Costs that remain unchanged for a period of time, variable costs are dependent on the increase and decrease of goods or services manufactured or produced by the company. Variable costs increase when the volume of units manufactured also increase. On the other hand, it decreases as the volume of units manufactured falls. Simply put, variable costs are volume-related costs. Common examples of variable costs are:
- Raw Materials
- Direct Labor
- Packaging Cost
- Shipping Fees
- Sales Commissions
The formula to calculate for Total Variable Cost:
Three key differences between Fixed Cost and Variable Cost:
To calculate for the Total Cost, simply add Total Fixed Cost and Total Variable Cost.
To calculate for the Total Revenue, simply multiply the total units sold by sales price per unit.
The break-even point analysis shows how fixed costs, the variable cost, total cost, and total revenue are affected by the level or volume of output. Others would argue that Break-even point and cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis are different but the majority would consider it as one and the same thus they are used interchangeably. Break-even formula is simple and straightforward to calculate, it depends on what kind of information you are trying to get; break-even point in units or in term of sales (dollars).
Break-even point in units identifies the number of units sold (total revenue) to cover the total cost.
It is helpful to note that the denominator in the formula, sales price per unit minus variable cost per unit, is also called the contribution margin per unit. Based on the example, the company sells its pen at $.50 and variable cost to make the shoe is $.35, then the contribution margin is $.15. This amount is used to cover the fixed costs and any excess is attributed to earnings. A low or negative contribution margin indicates the product may not be profitable and is insufficient to cover the fixed costs incurred. The company may have to consider lowering fixed costs or increasing sales.
The contribution margin can also be expressed as a percentage or a ratio. Simply divide the contribution margin by sales price per unit to get the contribution margin ratio. So, $.15 divided by $.50 will result in a contribution margin ratio of 30%. This means that for every dollar increase in sales, there will be a 30% increase in contribution margin to cover fixed costs incurred and anything in excess is the company’s profit.
Utilizing the contribution margin ratio, we can calculate the break-even point in term of sales. To get the break-even point in sales, divide the company’s fixed cost to the contribution margin ratio.
This means the company’s total revenue must be $1,000 to cover its variable cost as well as the fixed cost however profit will be zero.
Aside from calculating the break-even point in units and in terms of sales, it can also be illustrated or plotted in a chart.
The break-even point chart or graph summarizes the relationship between fixed costs, the variable cost, total cost, and total revenue, level of output using visualization. It is basically a line graph with two axes, the X-axis and Y-axis. To create a break-even chart, let us use the same Pen Company example and below details.
- The output (number of units) are presented on the X-axis (horizontal).
- The cost and revenue are presented on the Y-axis (vertical).
- The Fixed Cost line is plotted using a horizontal line to line to reflect how fixed costs do not change and are independent of levels of output.
- Adding the fixed cost and variable cost is the Total Cost which is presented by the upward sloping line. This is to reflect the increasing variable cost with the increase in output.
- The Total Revenue is also presented as an upward sloping line to reflect how every unit sold increases the total revenue.
- The point where Total Revenue and Total Cost crosses is the break-even point.
- Notice that before this point, Total Cost is above the Total Revenue line. This tells the management that the company suffers losses. It is helpful to understand that this area narrows as the output increases, every additional unit produced and sold lessens the loss.
- Notice also that after the break-even point, Total Revenue is above the Total Cost line. This tells the management that the company is profitable. The area widens as the output increases, every additional unit produced and sold increases profits.
- One important information to learn is the relationship between the break-even point and Total revenue. The difference between the break-even point and the Total Revenue is the margin of safety, this indicates how much sales can fall before the company suffers a loss. This is a key indicator of the strength of the company or business. If it is large, the business can successfully withstand a drop in sales and still continue to be profitable. On the other hand, if it is small, any drop in sales can have a significant adverse effect and the business may suffer losses.
To improve a company’s margin of safety, the management can do the following:
- Increase the output of production and sales.
- Increase in Sales Price.
- Lower Fixed Cost.
- Lower Variable Cost.
- Change the product mix. Substitute profitable products with the least profitable or unprofitable products.
Break-even point analysis is an effective tool however it has its shortcomings. The limitations of break-even analysis are the following:
- Unrealistic assumptions such as:
- Assumes sales prices are constant. This is unlikely as companies offer discounts and promotional prices are used.
- Assumes output (production) and sales are equal. In reality, companies do not sell all of its output. There are items that are unsold for a period of time, sales are bound to vary from period to period as demand for the product, consumer preference, etc. changes over time.
- Variable costs do not always increase in proportion to output. In manufacturing, as output increases the business benefits from being able to buy components or ingredients at lower or discounted prices (purchasing power) that will reduce variable cost per unit.
- Not all costs can easily be identified as fixed and variable.
- Mixed Cost. Also known as semi-variable and semi-fixed costs, these are essentially composed of a mix of both fixed and variable components. The fixed portion is incurred independent of the level of output. The variable portion is incurred as a function of the level of output. An example of a mixed cost is payment for a mobile service provider. The telco provides you with a specific service (let’s say a limit on the bandwidth) for a fixed fee (or monthly plan), regardless if you use your mobile you will still have to pay the monthly fee. On the other hand, if you use it frequently and your usage exceeds the limit then you will be charged proportionately to overage.
- Applicable to a single product or single mix of products. Companies sell multiple products at different prices to different customers and markets.
- Applicable in the short-run as its underlying cost assumptions may not hold up in the long run. For example, an increase in the volume of output will likely cause the fixed cost to increase in the long run.
- As the level of production increases, the benefits of economies of scale that affect unit costs are ignored.
- Does not consider other factors that affect cost and revenue such as cost of capital, plant size or capacity, technology (automation) used in production, competitors and market trends.
- Break-even analysis is a static analysis.
Despite these limitations, Break-even analysis is still an important tool in making decisions. It provides management answers to questions such as:
- How much revenue does the company have to achieve to avoid losses?
- What sales level is needed for a targeted profit?
- What are the effects of any changes in the Sales Price, Cost and output on company profits?
- What are the effects of any changes in the Sales Price, Cost and output on the break-even point?
- What is the optimal sales mix? What is the least profitable mix?
- Should the company make or buy ingredients or components key to the finished product?
If you want a closer look, here is a video tutorial discussing break-even analysis in Excel which will also help you in gaining a deeper insight and appreciation.
If you’re looking for financial model examples with break-even point analysis included available for download, please feel free to check our list here:
Customer Relationship Management Software is an application designed to automate interactions with clients, in particular, to increase sales, optimize marketing, and improve customer service. One can achieve it by preserving customer information, a history of relationships with them, improving relevant business processes, and subsequent analysis of the results. And if…
SaaS Finance and Accounting Software is a model of accounting software in which a service provider hosts the application. Instead of locally installing and maintaining the software, SaaS programs can be accessed securely through a PC or another device. And if you need accounting software in the cloud, we will…
A growing number of companies are turning to cloud solutions for managing their work processes, including concerning Human Resources. The SaaS subscription model for personnel management is an excellent solution for entrepreneurs who want to monitor the execution of tasks by employees online. We want to offer you a quality…
Start Up Gym Club Financial Model presents the case of an investment in a gym, fitness club and its operations. The model generates the three financial statements, a summary page, a break even analysis, and a valuation, along with various feasibility metrics as well as graphs. The financing options for…
Are you the one who dreams of opening a preschool care business? Do you like playing with your children? Do you know several methods of how to prepare children for school? Perhaps you are ready to begin your startup. We have created a complete preschool care business plan for starting…
Whether you are a parent, representative of an organization, an employer, or a school principal, we suggest you look at the information that meets many of your needs. In the Infant Care Business Plan, we have tried to collect all the aspects that will allow the entrepreneur to manage the…
Are you on the verge of opening a baby minding center? Or are you still thinking about how to organize a baby care establishment that will attract parents and children? In general, is it possible to plan a successful and profitable business yourself? To solve these matters, you need to…
Are you a caring Mom or Dad and you cannot imagine a minute without your child? Do you like providing primary child care? Are you a stay-at-home mom? If you still look forward to the next day with your child after permanent providing meals, napping time, playing games, then you…
Why start a family service business is a good idea? Nowadays, babysitting centers become more popular and indispensable among newly minted families. Young moms prefer career growth, business advancement, and starting their businesses instead of staying at home with their children. If you are the one who wants to launch…
Do you want to open a childcare center, but still worrying about the expenses? How long will it take you to return the investments to your business? What net profit per month will the children's center bring? Are child care centers profitable? Do not let your concerns prevent you from…
If you love working at home, you enjoy talking to the children. You are patient, then opening a babysitting business is a great way to combine your interests and make a profit. Moreover, it is a special kind of activity that does not require many expenses, and it is doomed…
The digital product marketplace model prepares a financial plan in Excel for online marketplace Startup businesses similar to concepts such as Themeforest or CodeCanyon. The model template allows you to build detailed bottom-up monthly projections of traffic, users, vendors, orders, listed products, revenues, costs, profits and cash flows and aggregate…
Start Up Nursery School Financial Model presents the case of an investment in a nursery school and its operations. The model generates the three financial statements, a summary page, a break even analysis, and a valuation, along with various feasibility metrics as well as graphs. The financing options for the…
If you ever wondered how to start an offline or online advertising agency business, then you have come to the address. Today this niche promises good profit because advertising is an integral and active part of the complex marketing system of a modern company. The need for specialists professionally promoting…
The rhythm of life of modern people makes them more and more often think about the quality and pre-planned vacation. That is why the need for travel agencies is quite high because many of us prefer to entrust the organization of their holidays to professionals. If you intend to open…
The modern insurance market is on the rise. This is especially noticeable in the background of a series of crisis phenomena that affect other areas of business in the world. To enter this market, it is desirable, but not necessary, to havу some experience and accumulated client base in this…
All over the world, business process outsourcing becomes a universally recognized standard in commercial relationships and is considered a useful tool in providing entrepreneurial activity. It is based on the theory of delegation of authority, which involves the transfer of some functions to competent employees who can perform work without…
Do you know well how to bring useful changes to the brand strategy and develop a new management concept? Do you want to help other people create a fundamentally new understanding of world-class brand marketing communications? Then it's time to organize your branding agency, for which we are ready to…
In most countries, the labor market is becoming more mature. As a result, the popularity of recruitment services is growing. Today, almost all companies that are looking for employees enjoy the services of Human Resources and Recruitment agencies. Therefore, anyone interested in how to start up and run your successful…
People who are interested in the medical field and who dream of their enterprise should pay attention to such a promising area as medical laboratory business. Medical services have always been a profitable business. And in this activity diagnostics occupies a special place, in which medical laboratory plays a significant…
The kidneys are responsible for filtering waste from the blood. Dialysis is an artificial replacement for lost kidney function. It allows people to live a productive and fulfilling life, even though their kidneys are no longer working at full strength. The market demand for hemodialysis services in our country is…
The desire of entrepreneurs to promote their product or service can make a good profit if you open an email marketing studio. The competition in this area is quite high, so if you decide to become an owner of such an enterprise, you will have to think through every nuance…
Anyone who dreams of their business in the new direction should pay attention to Digital marketing (also known as interactive-, internet-, web-marketing). This is the use of all possible forms of digital channels as the main driver of the organization's marketing strategy, as well as for online brand promotion. It…
Unusual, but very profitable, you can call such a commercial niche as content marketing. And if you are looking for an agent-type business for yourself, then this is what you need. A content marketing strategy is an action plan to create and disseminate useful content to attract the additional interest…
Do you dream of your own business, which you can please people with? Then you have a direct way to the organizers of the holidays. Today, event-agencies are very popular. According to experts, the crisis is going away, which means that many have become more willing to spend money on…
Are you a talented marketer dreaming of your own business? Then you should pay attention to direct marketing. This is a type of promotion, which involves the transfer of information about a product, service, or company directly to the client. Thus, the target audience receives all advertising information without intermediaries…